Farmers protest: Brace for more roadblocks today at Delhi borders

Massive traffic jams are feared for those travelling between Delhi, Gurugram, Faridabad and Ghaziabad today. The farmers protesting at Delhi’s borders are likely will put up roadblocks by blocking three highways connecting Delhi with these three satellite towns.

Heavy traffic jam at Gurugram-Delhi border as police personnel barricades the route amid the farmers protest, in Gurugram on Friday.
Heavy traffic jam at Gurugram-Delhi border as police personnel barricades the route amid the farmers protest, in Gurugram on Friday.

According to the protesting farmers, they are planning to block three highways leading to Delhi -- Jaipur-Delhi highway that connects Gurugram to Delhi, Hapur-Delhi highway that connects Delhi with Ghaziabad and Mathura-Delhi highway that connects Faridabad to Delhi.

Last week, similar protests saw massive traffic jams on roads leading to Delhi. The police has assured to make necessary arrangements to minimise any inconvenience to the commuters. It has set up teams to assess the situation and issue traffic advisory accordingly to alert commuters, if required.

Also check these Vehicles

Find more Cars
Mahindra Ekuv100 (HT Auto photo)
₹ 8.25 - 10 Lakhs* *Expected Price
View Details
Mahindra S204 (HT Auto photo)
₹ 12 Lakhs *Expected Price
View Details
Rolls-royce New Ghost (HT Auto photo)
₹ 6.95 - 7.95 Cr* *Expected Price
View Details
Mg 4 Ev (HT Auto photo)
₹ 30 - 32 Lakhs* *Expected Price
View Details
Kia Carnival 2023 (HT Auto photo)
₹ 35 - 39 Lakhs* *Expected Price
View Details
Kia Sorento (HT Auto photo)
₹ 25 - 30 Lakhs* *Expected Price
View Details

The Delhi Traffic Police is posting real-time traffic updates to alert commuters. One of the updates said, “Singhu border is still closed from both sides. Please take alternate route. Traffic has been diverted from Mukarba Chowk and GT Karnal Road.Traffic is very very heavy. Please avoid outer ring road from Signature bridge to Rohini & vice versa, GT Karnal Road, NH 44 and Singhu borders."

On Sunday, the Delhi Traffic Police tweeted, “Tikri border is closed for any Traffic Movement. Available open borders to Haryana are following -- Jharoda, Dhansa, Daurala Jhatikera, Badusari, Kapashera, Rajokri NH 8, Bijwasan, Palam Vihar and Dundahera borders."

People coming to the national capital from Haryana and Uttar Pradesh faced traffic snarls at several border crossings as the Delhi Police on Thursday intensified vehicle checking in view of the 'Delhi Chalo' march by Punjab farmers against the Centre's farm laws.

Several commuters coming to the national capital from Haryana and Uttar Pradesh complained of traffic jams due to checking last week. Vehicles were also checked at the DND and National Highway-24 crossings with Uttar Pradesh.

First Published Date: 30 Nov 2020, 09:06 AM IST
Shopping Bag Shop Now
74% OFF
Microfiber Car Cleaning Soft Brush Ideal as Mop Duster, Washing Brush with Long Handle, Dust Cleaner Car Wash Brush with Handle, Soft Brush Scratch Free, Cleaning Dashboard Curved Design - Grey
Rs. 389 Rs. 1,499
1% OFF
GOODAIR Clear Car Windshield Enhancer | Classic |12 Tablets
Rs. 295 Rs. 299
51% OFF
AGARO Galaxy Cordless Tyre Inflator, Portable Air Compressor, Flash Light, Power Bank, Multipurpose Use, Rechargeable, Up to 150 PSI Air Pump for Car, Bike, Foot Balls, Inflatables, Black & Red
Rs. 2,199 Rs. 4,499
55% OFF
Antson Portable High Power 2 in 1 Car Vacuum Cleaner | USB Rechargeable Wireless Handheld Car Vacuum Cleaner Traveling, Camping Reusable and Sustainable, Portable,Rechargeable Vacuum (2 in 1)
Rs. 899 Rs. 1,999

Please provide your details to get Personalized Offers on

Choose city
+91 | Choose city
Choose city
Choose city
Powered by: Acko Logo
Please be noted that any information provided herein above will be received by Acko General Insurance Limited (“Acko”). By mentioning the above information, you agree to provide these details and information to Acko.
By clicking "View Offers" you Agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy

Dear Name

Please verify your mobile number.

+91 | Choose city
Couldn't verify the OTP.
It's either expired or it's incorrect.